De Reis van de Heldin van Loralie Mcgill

What is the best thing that I love about my work? As an author for a small publishing company I have the ultimate freedom of perusing stories that speak to me and that I feel will speak to others. I am able to follow my conscience and my interests in order to produce my next piece.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Perfect happiness to me is being surrounded by my family and hearing their laughter, their stories and sharing their concerns. Being connected through shared experiences is my idea of perfect happiness.

What is my greatest fear? Death without expression of lessons learned and ideals held. This, to me, is the ultimate silence.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? In my youth it was a tendency to put too much importance on pleasing others rather than myself. It is possible that you become too self-absorbed and please others too little but when you please others at the detriment of self- it is most demoralizing.

What is my greatest extravagance? Good food and travel.

On what occasion would I lie? To protect someone I love.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? The greatest influence in my work has been female authors over the ages that are nearly forgotten. I am not speaking of the very famous, I’m speaking of female authors that may have obtained some celebrity during their life but are now relegated to the bottom shelf of history.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Compromising my vision. It doesn’t happen often, but sometimes I have to let go of an idea that is not ready for “prime time”.

 When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I’m happiest when the vision is clear and the work is progressing.  I would say that happened in 2012 during the filming of “Venus and Adonis The Curse of Love”. I cannot express the absolute joy of envisioning an idea and then bringing it to fruition.

 If I could, what would I change about myself? I would probably change my temper. I can be very hot headed. When I was young it served me well. When I know something is right, I fight for it. Although as I age, my temper sometimes seems like the words “rebel without a cause”; too much firepower and no enemy in sight.

 What is my greatest achievement in work? I wrote a children’s novella that took 20 years to get published.

 What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The pacific ocean. No place or thing on earth could possibly serve me better as a muse.

 What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? A small café called Besta Wan. Great pizza, great beer and great company.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband, who has supported every dream and hair-brained idea I’ve ever had!

 Whom would I like to work with in the future? Tina Fey

 What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? A screenplay I wrote called Dead Serious.

 How can you contact me? loraliemcgill@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

